Home / California Bus Accident Attorney / Bus Driver Requirements in California

What Requirements Must You Meet to Become a Bus Driver?

Recent studies have shown that although California may be a relatively safe place to drive, some of our cities, including Los Angeles, rank as the most dangerous in the country. In fact, according to reports from Vision Zero, someone is killed on the road every 40 hours. This non-profit organization reports the many reasons behind this anomaly including speeding, distraction, fatigue, road hazards, construction, and improper signage. However, the root of the issue revolves around our overly congested roads.

Heavy traffic can make it difficult for a bus driver to navigate through, especially due to its large size. Unfortunately, accidents are bound to happen, especially if negligent drivers are present. If you or a loved one were a victim of a bus accident, our expert Los Angeles bus accident attorneys at West Coast Trial Lawyers are available to offer legal assistance. We will strengthen your claim and negotiate with insurance companies to ensure you get the compensation you deserve.

To schedule a free consultation at our Los Angeles personal injury law firm, please contact our 24/7 legal team by calling (213) 927-3700 or filling out our quick contact form.

City Bus Driver Requirements

In LA County, Metro operates more than 2,000 buses in California. The pay rate is based on how long you’re with the company and can range between $15.82 to $24.34 per hour. Benefits include part-time, flexible hours, tuition reimbursement, paid training, and more. In addition to having a clean record, to become a bus driver in California, you must pass the following:

  • Background Check. A background check allows the employer to review an individual’s criminal record, identity, social security information, public records, and even bankruptcies.
  • Bus Operator Candidate Assessment Test. The Bus Operator Candidate Assessment Test (BOCAT) is an exam that tests an individual on bus driver responsibilities and duties. Federal regulations decide what is on the test and require each driver to abide by these rules.
  • Pre-Employment Physical Exam. This exam may comprise several drug and alcohol tests, psychological tests, physical and or mental reviews, as well as stamina and mental endurance tests.
  • Employment Verification. This is a type of background check that examines the inconsistencies between the actual employment history of the application and what history the applicant provides.
  • Information Session. A brief seminar will go over additional bus driver responsibilities and duties.

School Bus Driving Essentials 

California school bus drivers have stricter requirements than Metro, charter, or tour bus drivers. Before you are even allowed to qualify for a school bus driving position, you must pass the following requirements.

  • 18 years or older
  • In average physical condition
  • Have no character issues
  • Clean driving record
  • No criminal activity
  • Ability to work well with children

To actually become a California School Bus Driver, you must:

  • Have a minimum of 20 hours of classroom instruction
  • Be able to pass a physical examination
  • Be able to pass 4 written tests at the DMV or Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Be able to pass 2 written tests at the CHP or California Highway Patrol
  • Take a 20-hour driving training course
  • Be able to pass the driving tests with the CHP
  • Be able to pass a pre-employment drug test and fingerprinting registration

When to Sue a Bus Driver 

If you’re in a bus accident that was caused by the negligence of another, you may have a case. Depending on the type of bus crash and how it happened, the circumstances will affect liability and how insurance will handle the case. In many situations, both the bus driver and company hold some type of liability. To determine whether or not you have a case on your hands, you should contact an experienced bus accident attorney.

West Coast Trial Lawyers Is Here to Help

If you or a loved one were a victim of a bus accident, our expert team of Los Angeles bus accident attorneys at West Coast Trial Lawyers will help you recover compensation for damages you have suffered. This includes medical expenses, lost wages, property damage, emotional distress, and pain and suffering.

Contact us today by calling (213) 927-3700 or filling out our quick contact form to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with our knowledgeable, caring, and compassionate legal team.

Free Case Evaluation





    Free Case Evaluation