NO FEES UNTIL WE WIN
Distracted driving means driving while not completely focused on the crucial task of driving safely. Distracted driving encompasses seemingly harmless behaviors. But in the context of driving, the following behaviors are extremely dangerous:
It may seem hard to believe, but the potential for injuries, death, property damage, and skyrocketing medical costs is multiplied exponentially by doing something as harmless as responding to a simple text from a close friend.
If you were involved in a motor vehicle accident due to a distracted driver, you may be eligible to file a personal injury claim against them for damages. At West Coast Trial Lawyers, our skilled car accident attorneys are available 24/7 to offer legal assistance. We will review your case to determine what necessary steps should be taken in order to get you the compensation you deserve.
To schedule a free consultation, please contact our 24/7 legal team by calling 213-927-3700 or filling out our quick contact form.
Accidents and Injuries Caused by Distracted Drivers
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), about 3,000 deaths occur each year due to distracted driving. Below is a list of total deaths, from 2017 to 2020, that have been caused by distracted drivers.
The NHTSA also reported that 8.1 percent of fatal car accidents in 2020 were caused by distracted driving. This is a 0.7 percent increase compared to the total deaths in 2019.
Consequences of Distracted Driving
There are three primary types of distracted driving:
You cannot drive safely unless you’re completely focused on the task of driving. An example that proves this point is texting while driving, which is something that most drivers are guilty of doing.
On average, it takes about five seconds to send or read a text. That’s five seconds during which your eyes are not focused on the road. If you’re driving on the freeway at the very reasonable speed of 55 mph, that’s comparable to closing your eyes while driving across the entire length of a football field.
Using your cell phone while driving in the state of California is both dangerous and illegal. You cannot drive while holding a cell phone in your hand for any reason. You can only use your phone in a hands-free manner. Under no circumstances can you ever hold a phone in your hand while driving. It’s worth mentioning that all drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone for any reason.
Common examples of distracted driving:
How Does California AB 47 Affect Distracted Drivers?
California AB 47 went into effect on July 1, 2021. This law was primarily established to punish drivers who would use their cell phones while operating a vehicle. If a driver is caught performing such an action more than once within a 36-month period, they will be subject to serious repercussions, such as getting a point added to their driving record. If a driver continues to accumulate points within this three-year time frame, they can get their license revoked or suspended.
The objective of this law is to ensure that drivers do not allow their cell phones to distract them from having their focus directed towards the road. Not only will this help reduce the likelihood of having distracted drivers present on the road, but it will also protect other drivers and pedestrians from getting struck by them.
Contact Us to Find Out How We Can Help
If you have sustained injuries as a result of another driver’s distracted driving, you have the right to hold that driver responsible. A skilled car accident attorney at West Coast Trial Lawyers can help you recover compensation for the losses you have suffered, including medical bills, property damage, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
Contact us today by calling213-927-3700 or filling out our contact form to schedule a free consultation with our experienced, caring, and compassionate legal team.