FREE CONSULTATION

213-927-3700

NO FEES UNTIL WE WIN

Getting Compensation From Uber Accidents in California

As a colossal, multibillion dollar company that spans over 700 cities, it is no surprise that Uber had its fair share of lawsuits. From drivers to passengers, many have had disputes with the monster corporation ranging from personal injury claims to wrongful termination allegations. 

Due to their convoluted policies, which vary from state to state, resolving rideshare issues can be tricky. Rather than fighting with Uber directly, many will want to seek the help of a qualified rideshare accident lawyer.

At West Coast Trial Lawyers, our experienced Uber and Lyft accident lawyers have won more than 5,000 personal injury cases and recovered over $1 billion in settlements for our clients. With our notable track record of meeting or exceeding all of our clients expectations, we are confident that we will deliver a good outcome to your case.

Uber Laws in California 

Due to the rapid growth of Uber, Lyft, and other Transportation Network Companies (TNC’s), many states are discovering an infinite variety of possible threats and regulation challenges. 

When questioned, Jarvis Murray of the Los Angeles Department of Transportation Network Companies stated that, “Their rapid rise — and essentially unregulated rise – have led to increased congestion, as well as an increased concern related to crimes committed by TNC drivers, including sexual assault. Despite these issues, local jurisdictions have been unable to obtain any data related to TNC operations, drivers, or even driver conduct.”  

Rules to Protect the Uber Rider

According to the Los Angeles Department of Transportation, there are approximately 100,000 to 250,000 TNC drivers in Los Angeles, which can average over 8.9 million trips a year. For the protection of its citizens, California has attempted to manage Uber by assigning the following rules:

  1. In compliance with the California Public Utilities Commission Decision D.17-11-010 and Pub. Util. Code § 5445.2, all driver-partners must pass an annual background check.
  2. All drivers are required to display their Uber decal on the windshield on the front passenger side. 
  3. Vehicles need to be inspected once a year or every 50,000 miles. 
  4. Riders must be of legal age. Drivers are not permitted to transport unaccompanied minors or single riders under the age of 18. 

Rules to Protect the Uber Driver 

California is known for its progressive policies and has made efforts to safeguard the rights of Uber drivers. In most states, Uber classifies their drivers as “independent contractors” rather than employees. This frees the company from regulating wages, overtime, meal periods, unemployment insurance, healthcare subsidies, workers’ compensation, and rest breaks. It also allows Uber to legally end the contract for whatever reason, whenever they please. California laws protect Uber and Lyft employees from mistreatment, but it does not extend these measures to independent contractors. 

Drivers themselves have protested against mistreatment and unfair wages. There has been so much debate over whether Uber and Lyft should consider their drivers as employees that the state drafted the AB5 bill. This bill was approved by the Assembly and the California State Senate, and was signed by Governor Gavin Newsom on September 18, 2019. 

California’s Prop 22 ballot was later established and led by Uber, Lyft, and DoorDash. Each company contributed $30 million into campaign accounts to fund an initiative campaign. Instacart and Postmates also joined the campaign later on. 

Prop 22 acquired over $200 million, which was considered the most funds an initiative campaign has ever gotten in California. All of this effort contributed by rideshare and food delivery companies were made to eliminate the possibility of allowing rideshare and food delivery drivers from obtaining employee benefits. In November of 2020, Prop 22 was approved. Rideshare drivers and food delivery drivers remained as independent contractors.

However, the ballot was identified as unconstitutional. Uber and other app-based services announced their intent to appeal to this decision. The ballot is expected to make its way to California’s Supreme Court to determine whether it should remain active. Until then, rideshare and food delivery drivers will continue to work as independent contractors. 

How Much Compensation Can I Get in an Uber Accident Settlement?

The amount of money you will get from an Uber accident settlement is dependent on several factors. In many situations, the victim’s damages are measured along with liability. For example, if you are a pedestrian struck by an Uber driver, your settlement could be affected by the lighting on the road, time of day, and even by the color of your outfit. Always hire a qualified rideshare lawyer to achieve the best outcome. 

When Do You Need a Rideshare Lawyer?

It is imperative to contact a rideshare accident lawyer as soon as possible if you are the victim of an accident and were injured or suffered property damage. Uber has a long history of settling claims per their Uber settlement policy. However, without proper legal representation, you may not be getting all you are entitled to for your damages. 

West Coast Trial Lawyers Is Here to Help

If you were involved in an Uber or Lyft accident, our experienced personal injury attorneys at West Coast Trial Lawyers will help you get the compensation you deserve for your losses. We are committed to resolving your legal issues as quickly as possible while receiving the best results. Our clients are represented on a contingency fee basis. If we do not win, you owe us nothing. There is no financial risk to prevent you from reaching out. 

If you are interested in using our services, you may contact our 24/7 legal team by calling (213) 652-5649 or filling out our quick contact form.

Free Case Evaluation