FREE CONSULTATION

213-927-3700

NO FEES UNTIL WE WIN

Uber Car Safety Requirements

Are These Uber Vehicle Requirements Making Your Rideshare Experience Safer?

To arrange for quality service, Uber has administered a code of standards for a vehicle to adhere to before it can drive for the famous rideshare association. This set of regulations differs by state. These laws are set in place not only to keep the roads safe, but to ensure that Uber riders can rely on a certain level of professionalism and excellence.

If your rideshare driver somehow managed to surpass Uber’s requirements by owning a defective or damaged vehicle that contributed to the cause of your accident, you may be eligible to file a personal injury claim for damages. At West Coast Trial Lawyers, our skilled Uber and Lyft accident attorneys have over 60 years of collective legal experience in handling personal injury cases. With our track record of winning more than $1 billion in settlements for our clients, we are confident that we will deliver a good outcome to your case.

If you would like to ask any questions about your Uber accident or schedule a free consultation at our personal injury law firm, please contact our 24/7 legal team by calling (213) 652-5649 or filling out our quick contact form.

 

Minimum Car Requirements

With so many cars on the market, it makes sense for there to be a minimum criteria that must be met by all vehicles:

  • The car must be no older than 15 years.
  • Must be a 4-door vehicle.
  • Blemish free, without any visible cosmetic damage.
  • No commercial branding, such as promotional stickers or signs.
  • Ability to pass the state’s vehicle inspection test.

Prohibited Features 

Just as Uber requires vehicles to have certain features, it also bans specific embellishments. You may not be able to drive for Uber if your vehicle has any of the following:

  • Ads or promotions for any other company besides Uber.
  • Ripped seats, damaged interior, horrible odors, or heavy stains.
  • Paint oxidation damage.
  • Mismatched car hoods or doors.
  • Heavily tinted windows.
  • Aftermarket modifications, including racing pedals and interior dome lighting.

Insurance Policies 

While you’re off the Uber application, your personal insurance, which is required by law, should at least partially cover your expenses. However, Uber does provide the following allowances in reference to insurance. Oftentimes, these accidents end up resulting in settlements governed by Ubers laws. It’s important to understand the laws that apply to Uber accidents.

While You’re Available or Waiting for a Ride:

  • $50,000 for bodily injury for a single person
  • $100,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 in property damage per accident

While You’re En Route or During Trips:

  • $1,000,000 third party liability
  • Uninsured or underinsured motorist bodily injury
  • Contingent comprehensive and collision coverage for the cash value of the car after the $1,000 deductible is paid

Vehicle Requirement Options 

UberX

  • Must be a 4-door vehicle
  • At least 5 factory-installed seats and seat belts
  • Usable windows and working air conditioning
  • Registered and insured in the state of California

UberXL 

  • Must be a 4-door vehicle
  • 7-factory installed seats and seat belts
  • Accessible windows and reliable air conditioning
  • Registered and insured in California

Black 

The Uber black option is for the rider who is looking for a more professional appearance. The guidelines for these vehicles include:

  • A 4.85 star rating
  • No more than 5 years old
  • Commercial insurance
  • TCP number
  • Pristine black interior and exterior condition
  • Accessible windows and air conditioning

Black SUV 

  • 4.85 Rating
  • 5 years or younger
  • Commercial insurance
  • TCP number
  • Immaculate all-black interior and exterior
  • Seats 7
  • Uber Black and Black SUV Prohibited Features

LUX

This title is reserved for Uber’s most lavish vehicles. Only the most exclusive cars qualify for this service:

  • Commercial insurance
  • No older than 2012
  • Seats at least 4 people
  • Immaculate insides and outside

Decals

According to California law, every Uber driver must display the Uber decal on their vehicle. The Uber decal must be placed on the front and rear windshield facing outward. Rideshare drivers may remove the decal when they are offline. However, the decal must be placed back onto the vehicle when the rideshare driver goes back online.

West Coast Trial Lawyers Is Here to Help

If you were involved in an Uber or Lyft accident, our experienced personal injury attorneys at West Coast Trial Lawyers will help you get the compensation you deserve for your losses. We are committed to resolving your legal issues as quickly as possible while receiving the best results. Our clients are represented on a contingency fee basis. If we do not win, you owe us nothing. There is no financial risk to prevent you from reaching out.

Contact us today by calling (213) 652-5649 or filling out our quick contact form to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with our knowledgeable, caring, and compassionate legal team.

Free Case Evaluation