ClickCease Point Checklist: Uber Vehicle Requirements

Ranked #1

Personal Injury Firm


What Are the Car Requirements To Drive For Uber In Los Angeles


Uber Vehicle Requirements Make the Rideshare Experience Safer: Free Insight From the Best Rideshare Accident Injury Lawyers


To arrange for quality service, Uber has administered a code of standards for a vehicle to adhere to before it can drive for the famous rideshare association. This set of regulations differs by state. West Coast Trial Lawyers believe that these laws are set in place not only to keep the roads safe, but to ensure that Uber riders can rely on a certain level of professionalism and excellence. In this article we will discuss the vehicle requirements for Uber and understand why these provisions are in place. 

Minimum Car Requirements


With so many cars on the market, it makes sense for there to be a minimum criteria that must be met by all vehicles:

  • Car must be no older than 15 years
  • Must be a 4-door vehicle 
  • Blemish free, without any visible cosmetic damage 
  • No commercial branding, such as promotional stickers or signs
  • Ability to pass the state’s vehicle inspection test 

Prohibited Features


Just as Uber requires vehicles to have certain features, it also bans specific embellishments. You may not be able to drive for Uber if your vehicle has any of the following: 

  • Ads or promotions for any other company besides Uber 
  • A damaged interior, ripped seats, horrible odors, or heavy stains 
  • Paint oxidation damage 
  • Mismatched car hoods or doors
  • Heavily tinted windows
  • Aftermarket modifications including racing pedals, interior dome lighting, etc.

Insurance Policies


While you’re off the Uber application, your personal insurance (which is required by law), should at least partially cover your expenses. However, Uber does provide the following allowances in reference to insurance.

While You’re Available Or Waiting For a Ride:

  • $50,000 for bodily injury for a single person 
  • $100,000 for bodily injury per accident 
  • $25,000 in property damage per accident 

While You’re En Route Or During Trips:

  • $1,000,000 third party liability 
  • Uninsured or underinsured motorist bodily injury 
  • Contingent comprehensive and collision coverage for the cash value of the car after the $1,000 deductible is paid

Vehicle Requirement Options in Los Angeles


UberX

  • Must be a 4 door vehicle 
  • At least 5 factory-installed seats and seat belts
  • Usable windows and working air conditioning 
  • Registered and insured in the state of California

UberX Prohibited Features


  • Rebuilt cars
  • Government cars and taxi cabs 
  • Vans or box trucks

UberXL


  • Must be a 4 door vehicle 
  • 7 factory installed seats and seat belts 
  • Accessible windows and reliable air conditioning 
  • Registered and insured in California

Select


Select is for the rider who is looking for a medium grade car. The main criteria for these cars include: 

  • Newer than 2009 
  • Blemish free leather or vinyl interiors 
  • Seats 5 or more passengers 
  • Working windows and air conditioning 

Black


The Uber black option is for the rider who is looking for a more professional appearance. The guidelines for these vehicles include:

  • A 4.85 star rating 
  • No more than 5 years old 
  • Commercial insurance 
  • TCP number 
  • Pristine black interior and exterior condition 
  • Accessible windows and air conditioning

Black SUV


  • 4.85 Rating
  • 5 years or younger
  • Commercial insurance  
  • TCP number 
  • Immaculate all-black interior and exterior 
  • Seats 7

LUX


This title is reserved for Uber’s most lavish vehicles. Only the most exclusive cars qualify for this service:

  • Commercial insurance 
  • No older than 2012 
  • Seats at least 4 people 
  • Immaculate insides and outside 

Decals


According to California law, every Uber driver must display the Uber decal on their windshield. This is not only for the protection of the passengers, but it also helps people find their ride on a busy street.

Available Damages


Accidents happen. If you were injured as a result of someone else’s negligence, you may be entitled to compensation for your losses. Below is a brief explanation of damages. Damages are a type of monetary award that is determined by a court of law to help compensate an aggrieved individual for any losses or injuries sustained as a result of someone’s negligence.

Economic Damages

Economic damages are intended to compensate a plaintiff for losses that a dollar amount can readily be attached to. Economic damages are calculated by determining the amount of out of pocket losses an aggrieved individual has or will expect to incur as a result of their injuries. 

A few examples of economic losses include:

  • Loss of Earning Capacity
  • Medical Bills
  • Lost Wages

Non-Economic Damages

Non-economic damages are essentially intended to cover losses that are thought of as subjective and will not necessarily cover out of pocket losses. Non-economic damages may include compensation for:

  • Emotional Distress
  • Pain and Suffering
  • Loss  of Enjoyment of Life
  • Other Non-Economic Damanges

Punitive Damages

The third type of damages a California court may award are known as punitive damages. Punitive damages are intended as punishment and are only awarded when a defendant’s behavior is especially harmful. Punitive damages are relatively rare and in fact are only incorporated in 5% of all verdicts.

WEST COAST TRIAL LAWYERS IS HERE TO HELP


Our personal injury attorneys will not charge you for a consultation. Our clients are represented on a contingency fee basis. If we do not win, you owe us nothing. There is no financial risk to prevent you from reaching out. Our qualified personal injury lawyers are highly-trained and have extensive experience with cases that are similar to yours. We are committed to helping you resolve your legal issues as quickly as possible while receiving the best results.

If you or someone you know has been injured in an Uber or Lyft accident, reach out to our legal team 24 hours a day by calling us at (213) 927-3700 or emailing [email protected].

CONTACT WEST COAST TRIAL LAWYERS TODAY


If you have been injured in an accident, you can count on the legal team at West Coast Trial Lawyers to fight for your rights every step of the way. Contact us today to schedule your free case evaluation with a personal injury attorney.
Free Consultations /
No Fees Until We Win
(888)596-1563

FREE CASE EVALUATION