Personal Injury Firm in Los Angeles
A motorcycle hit and run accident occurs when one or more individuals involved in a motorcycle accident immediately flee the scene without exchanging insurance information and before the police arrive. A motorcycle hit and run accident can either involve a vehicle hitting a motorcycle, or even a motorcycle hitting a pedestrian.
What makes an everyday car accident or motorcycle accident escalate to a hit and run incident is the failure of either the rider or the driver to do what the law requires in the aftermath of an accident. If you were involved in a motorcycle accident and you leave the scene before the police arrive, there could be serious consequences.
Leaving the scene of a motorcycle accident may amount to a felony or misdemeanor charge, depending on the severity of the injuries or damage caused. If you were injured in a motorcycle hit and run accident, you need to contact a lawyer immediately. Our Los Angeles motorcycle accident lawyers have decades of experience successfully litigating on behalf of clients involved in motorcycle hit and run accidents.
We understand the difficulties you are facing and we are committed to helping you get your life back on track. We will take on the stress of dealing with the insurance companies and the legal system so that you can completely focus on your recovery and on your loved ones.
Under California law , a driver involved in an accident is expected to stay at the scene. It is a crime to leave the scene of the accident before complying with some basic requirements under California Vehicle Code 16025. The California Vehicle Code requires all parties involved in an accident to provide their insurance information and personal details. They are also required to wait with any injured person until police or emergency services arrive at the scene.
The only situation where a person is allowed to leave the scene of an accident is when they have hit a parked car or motorcycle. The law allows such individuals the option of leaving a note with the necessary details on the vehicle or motorcycle.
A person who leaves the scene of an accident without complying with the law could be charged for a hit and run offense. Depending on the circumstances of the hit and run, this can result in fines or even jail time if the person is found guilty.
Generally, leaving the scene of an accident is a misdemeanor that will draw a fine of $1,000 and up to 6 months’ jail time. And leaving the scene of an accident when a person has lost their life is even more serious. Such an act could count as a felony, and may result in imprisonment for up to four years and a fine of up to $10,000.
The law on motorcycle hit and run accidents in California (California Vehicle Code § 20002) is very strict. This is partly because of how frequently such accidents occur in the state, which is so committed to curbing hit and run incidents, that it offers a $50,000 reward for any person that has information on drivers who have fled the scene of an accident.
According to recent data, a hit and run accident happens once every 18 minutes in Los Angeles County.
The AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety also reported that California had the most hit and run fatalities of any state in 2016. It had 337 hit and run cases that resulted in at least one fatality, which is more than 50% higher than any other state.
Due to the overwhelming number of hit and run crashes in California, the situation can be likened to an epidemic. The dangers are much more serious for motorcyclists, because they are more at risk for sustaining serious or life threatening injuries.
The liable party in a motorcycle hit and run accident can be charged with a criminal offense if they are arrested by the police, and victims may also be entitled to recover damages for their injuries and property loss.
One of the most important action items when involved in a hit and run accident, is to file a police report within 24 hours. This is important when someone has uninsured motorist insurance, which makes filing a police report a requirement before paying out benefits.
If the guilty party has insurance, you can recover compensation from their insurer by filing a claim. It’s important to be careful when dealing with another party’s insurance company because they do not have your best interests in mind. A Los Angeles motorcycle accident lawyer can help process your claim, and will ensure you recover fair compensation.
If the at-fault driver does not have insurance, you can still sue them. However, keep in mind that a guilty driver may not always be caught. If a driver cannot be tracked down, you do have options. You can file for compensation through your own insurer if you have uninsured motorist coverage. This insurance coverage will entitle you to compensation for the damage to your motorcycle or vehicle as well as medical expenses. The amount of compensation you can recover in such a claim will depend on the extent of coverage you had in the first place.
Even if you were partially at fault for the accident, you can still recover some compensation under California law. This is based on the “Comparative Negligence System” that California operates under. The total amount you can recover as compensation will be reduced based on your degree of fault. A Los Angeles motorcycle accident lawyer will help explain all your options and will create a plan to recover maximum compensation.
If you or a loved one has suffered a hit and run motorcycle accident, contact an experienced Los Angeles motorcycle accident lawyer at West Coast Trial Lawyers today. Our attorneys will get you maximum compensation for your medical care and damages. Consultations are always free, and you only pay when we get you compensation for your injuries. You can reach our friendly staff today by emailing us at firstname.lastname@example.org or by calling toll free at (213) 927-3700.