California Hit and Run Car Collisions
Pursuing California Hit and Run Car Accident Cases
Hit and Run Collisions — California Vehicle Code 20002(a)
Los Angeles is known for its beautiful beaches, diverse culture, and heavy traffic. As the entertainment capital of the world, California roads are consistently busy and therefore more prone to car accidents.
Auto accident lawyers are kept very busy as there are a reported 90,000 car crashes a year, with 20,000 of them being hit and run collisions. Under CVC 20002(a), any driver involved in an accident that results in property damage, including vehicles, must remain at the scene of the crash and cooperate with the other party to exchange information with one another. Those who go against the law will be charged with a misdemeanor. Jail time of up to 6 months and/or a fine of up to $1,000 may also be served as a punishment.
Though there may be different types of hit and run accidents, the experienced team of car accident attorneys at West Coast Trial Lawyers understand the complexity and severity of these cases, especially when serious injury or death may occur.
Types of Hit and Run Collisions
California enforces very strict laws regarding hit and run accidents. Though each situation is technically different, there are 3 main circumstances where a hit and run lawyer may be needed:
- Fleeing the scene after your vehicle was involved in a car wreck, regardless of fault.
- Failure to provide appropriate identification and insurance information, even when hitting parked automobiles (or property, such as a fence or mailbox) and no one is there.
- Driving away from an accident you caused, though you were not physically involved.
Penalties and California Hit and Run Law
Accidents can happen to anyone and liability can be difficult to prove, even if your vehicle is the one that was hit. When analyzing a hit and run case, a car accident attorney will consider who is at-fault and the level of damage or injury that the victim has suffered.
As a consequence of a driver’s negligent behavior, the law treats these situations severely and convicted parties may suffer heavy fines and even six months of jail time.
California considers most hit and run instances as misdemeanors, but the consequences can worsen if someone has died or if the at-fault driver is intoxicated. These charges may then be upgraded to a felony depending on the severity of the case.
How Hit and Run Victims Can Protect Themselves
For many, hit and run accidents can be very traumatic. If you were a victim of a hit and run, our top trial lawyers suggest that you immediately:
- Park. Pull over and park as quickly as possible to avoid further damage or aggressive situations.
- Call the police. Even if no one seems seriously injured, please contact the authorities. Regardless of how minor the damage is to your automobile, it is very important to make a police report. You may not realize how bad the damage to your vehicle or body is until after the moment has passed. In fact, whiplash symptoms may take several days to show up. If you do not make a police report, you will likely have a difficult time settling a personal injury claim.
- Collect evidence. Make your case as easy as possible by gathering as much information as you can. This includes taking several pictures of the damage, as well as writing down information about the collision. Archiving details such as times, locations, and license plate numbers can greatly increase your chances of receiving compensation for your car accident injury.
- Find a witness. If you are able to, survey the area for a possible witness. Make sure you collect their contact information, as well. Their input will greatly strengthen your case.
- Contact a Los Angeles car accident attorney. Unfortunately, most insurance companies will force you to pay the deductible. They may attempt to settle for much less money than you deserve. In these situations, it is imperative to speak with a skilled Los Angeles personal injury lawyer. They will negotiate with your insurance company to make sure you get fair compensation that will cover for any damages or injuries you suffered from the accident.
What to Do if You Hit a Parked Car
This may not happen often, but there are many cases where you may hit a parked car, or have your parked car struck by another vehicle. The law is very clear about these situations and states that you must wait for the owner of that vehicle to exchange insurance information. If the person is unavailable, it is imperative to leave a note with your contact information. This will protect you from getting charged with a misdemeanor.
What Can a Car Accident Lawyer in Los Angeles Do for You?
Victims of hit and run cases are subject to costly repairs, bodily damage, and mental anguish. We at West Coast Trial Lawyers understand how stressful these situations can be and we handle each case with the individual attention and compassion you deserve.
For a free consultation, email us at [email protected] or call us at (213) 927-3700 to learn more about our contingency based services.
Read More About Car Accidents
Our excellent team of car accident attorneys have created several resources for you to read through. Feel free to browse these topics and read the ones you would like to learn about more.
- 7 Crucial Steps To Take After a Car Accident
- Car Accident Victim Compensation
- Uninsured Car Accidents
- How a Car Accident Attorney Can Help
- Accidents and Injuries by Aggressive Drivers
- Accidents and Injuries by Distracted Drivers
- Accidents and Injuries by Drowsy Driving
- Accidents and Injuries by Impaired Drivers
- Accidents and Injuries by Drunk Drivers
- Accidents and Injuries by Inexperienced Drivers
- Accidents and Injuries From Speeding
- Head on Collision Considerations
- Multi Car Collision Considerations
- Rear End Collision Considerations
- Side Impact Collisions
- Car Accident Injury Types
- What to Do After a Hit and Run Collision
- Comparative Negligence – Seat Belt Law in California
- Common Types of Car Accident Injuries
- DUI in California
- Multi-Car Collision
- How to Determine Fault in a Car Accident
- 50/50 at Fault Car Accident
- Car Accident – No Police, No Insurance
- How Can I Stop My Insurance From Increasing
- Whether to File an Auto Insurance Claim or Not
- Compensation for Lost Wage From a Car Accident
- Car Accident Recovery Tips
- No Fault Car Accident
- Legal Guide to Own a Classic or Custom Car in California
- Poor Road Maintenance – Can I sue the City for My Car Accident?
- Los Angeles Traffic, Accidents, and Safety Tips
- Car Accidents While Driving a Rental Car
- Who Pays Medical Bills After a Car Accident
- Car Accident Property Damage Settlement Guide
- Loss of Consortium
- Car Insurance Law for New California Residents
- Med Pay Auto Insurance
- Filing a Car Insurance Claim in CA
- California Sees Speeding Double Due to Coronavirus: It’s Impact on Insurance
- Can I Change My Car Accident Lawyer?
- Should I Hire a Lawyer for a Minor Car Accident?
- Why Do I Need a Lawyer After a Car Accident?
- Single Vehicle Collisions
- Most Common Types of Serious Auto Accidents
- California Car Accident Statistics
- Rollover Accidents
- Drag Races in California Road During Coronavirus
- Weather Conditions and Car Accidents
- What Happens If I’m Injured in an Accident While Visiting California?
- Psychological Injuries After a Car Accident