Filing a Car Insurance Claim in California
Filing a Car Insurance Claim After a Crash in California
In order for you to file a car insurance claim in the state of California, you must notify your insurance provider. This can be typically done through the phone, web, or even through a mobile app.
It doesn’t matter whether you or the other driver was at-fault. If you already have an insurance policy, you must notify your provider. If you are uninsured, you may also file a claim with the other individual’s insurance provider, but only if they were totally or partially at-fault.
If you were injured in a car accident, it is always best to contact a car accident attorney before speaking with your provider. Insurance companies, even your own, are designed to look after their own interests. Their main interest is maximizing profits, even if it is at your expense.
What Do I Do Immediately After a Car Accident?
If you were involved in a car accident in the state of California, we recommend the following:
- Call an ambulance if medical assistance is needed.
- Call the police if there is property damage or injuries.
- Call your insurance provider. If you are uninsured and not at-fault, call the other party’s provider.
- An accident causes over $1,000 in property damage.
- Someone was killed or injured.
What if I Was Liable for the Accident?
You must always notify your own provider, regardless of who was at-fault. There are insurance policies, including Med Pay insurance and California collision insurance that will pay regardless of fault.
It’s entirely possible that the other driver may be found either wholly or partially responsible. Because California is a comparative negligence state, you may still be able to recover damages even if you were partially at-fault for the accident.
How Much Time Do I Have to Recover Damages?
In the state of California, the statute of limitations to sue for car accident injuries is two years. Please be aware that two years is the amount of time you have to file a claim against the other driver, and not how long you have to report the accident to your insurance provider.
And if I Don’t Have Insurance?
As mentioned, you can file a claim with the other driver’s provider, but only if you were not at-fault. The other driver’s insurance provider will not likely stand up for you, and may in fact even dismiss you. In these cases, it is best to reach out to an experienced car accident lawyer in order to recover any damages.
Working With an Insurance Adjuster
Once you have filed a claim with your provider, an insurer is required to contact you within 15 days after receiving the notice of your claim. An insurance adjuster will ask for a statement about what happened , and will also gather and analyze evidence to determine liability and appropriate damages.
An insurer will collect and analyze the following forms of evidence:
- Your statement of what happened
- Statements from witnesses and/or the other driver
- Your claim form
- A vehicle inspection
- Photographs of the accident scene
- Damage reports
- Medical costs
- Medical reports
How Much Time Does It Take to Receive My Damages?
An insurer is required to either accept or deny a claim no later than 40 days after it has been proven. In this context, proof is essentially showing you are entitled to recovery for damages, as well as the amount you are entitled to.
A simple claim without complex liability issues can typically be settled within a few days. If determining fault is an issue, or if someone was seriously injured, proving a case may take months.
West Coast Trial Lawyers Is Here to Help
At West Coast Trial Lawyers, we offer experienced attorneys that are readily available to help you get the justice and the maximum compensation you deserve. If we do not win, you owe us nothing. There is no financial risk when making a free consultation to get your case started. Call us today at (213) 927-3700 or email us at [email protected] for immediate legal assistance.
Read More About Car Accidents
Our excellent team of car accident attorneys have created several resources for you to read through. Feel free to browse these topics and read the ones you would like to learn about more.
- 7 Crucial Steps To Take After a Car Accident
- Car Accident Victim Compensation
- Uninsured Car Accidents
- How a Car Accident Attorney Can Help
- Accidents and Injuries by Aggressive Drivers
- Accidents and Injuries by Distracted Drivers
- Accidents and Injuries by Drowsy Driving
- Accidents and Injuries by Impaired Drivers
- Accidents and Injuries by Drunk Drivers
- Accidents and Injuries by Inexperienced Drivers
- Accidents and Injuries From Speeding
- Head on Collision Considerations
- Multi Car Collision Considerations
- Rear End Collision Considerations
- Side Impact Collisions
- Car Accident Injury Types
- What to Do After a Hit and Run Collision
- Comparative Negligence – Seat Belt Law in California
- Common Types of Car Accident Injuries
- DUI in California
- Multi-Car Collision
- How to Determine Fault in a Car Accident
- 50/50 at Fault Car Accident
- Car Accident – No Police, No Insurance
- How Can I Stop My Insurance From Increasing
- Whether to File an Auto Insurance Claim or Not
- Compensation for Lost Wage From a Car Accident
- Car Accident Recovery Tips
- No Fault Car Accident
- Legal Guide to Own a Classic or Custom Car in California
- Poor Road Maintenance – Can I sue the City for My Car Accident?
- Los Angeles Traffic, Accidents, and Safety Tips
- Car Accidents While Driving a Rental Car
- Who Pays Medical Bills After a Car Accident
- Car Accident Property Damage Settlement Guide
- Loss of Consortium
- Car Insurance Law for New California Residents
- Med Pay Auto Insurance
- Filing a Car Insurance Claim in CA
- California Sees Speeding Double Due to Coronavirus: It’s Impact on Insurance
- Can I Change My Car Accident Lawyer?
- Should I Hire a Lawyer for a Minor Car Accident?
- Why Do I Need a Lawyer After a Car Accident?
- Single Vehicle Collisions
- Most Common Types of Serious Auto Accidents
- California Car Accident Statistics
- Rollover Accidents
- Drag Races in California Road During Coronavirus
- Weather Conditions and Car Accidents
- What Happens If I’m Injured in an Accident While Visiting California?
- Psychological Injuries After a Car Accident