Personal Injury Firm in Los Angeles
Since Baron Karl von Drais’ 1817 introduction of the velocipede, bicycles have experienced a plethora of evolutions. From largely disproportionate wheels to extended handlebars, to the addition of high powered motors, the technological journey of the bicycle has been exciting to follow, but far from the safest.
Bicycle accident law is put in place to prevent bicycle accident injuries. In the state of California, there are strict regulations regarding legal bicycle alterations and modifications. Since the law differs from state to state and the bicycle accident attorneys at West Coast Trial Lawyers are here to help you iron out the specifics of your case.
Pasadena is in the process of addressing safety concerns regarding bike pathways between east of Lake and west of Lake regions.
Irvine saw a 27-percent reduction in bicycle collisions from 2012-2013. However, in 2018 there was a slight rise.
Generally, California allows modifications to bicycles unless the changes involve some sort of power source. California bicycle accident law takes the size and type of motor into consideration before deciding whether a vehicle is legal or not. Naturally, these standard bikes are legal unless altered with a motor or engine:
eBikes are defined as a “bicycle that can be run on electric power as well as by pedaling.” Since eBikes are virtually new adaptations, California bicycle accident law has divided the regulations into three classifications. AB 1096 is the law that defines each eBike classification, while prohibiting any motor that has more than 750 watts.
Class 1. ebike. Has the lowest speed of all the pedal-assisted electric bikes. These types of bikes stop their engines around 20 mph and only give support when the pedals are in motion. Class 1 eBikes are allowed everywhere that a traditional bike is allowed.
Class 2. ebike. Are also low speed bicycles, but include “throttle-assistance,” which refers to the electrical turn of the pedals without the help of the rider. The electric motor will stop the surge when the bike reaches 20 mph. You can also ride this bike anywhere you can ride a non-motorized bike.
Class 3 eBike. Have the fastest speed out of all the bikes reaching up to 28 mph before stopping assistance. Riders of the class 3 eBike must be at least 16 years old and are required to wear a helmet. These bikes are restricted from bike paths and hiking trails.
No. It is illegal to alter an electric bike for the purposes of increasing speed. Depending on the state, you may be able to do so if you have the label legally changed as well.
California is no stranger to interesting and creative bicycle additions. The law, however, mainly focuses on the electrical aspects and speed of the bike. Modifying a bike will change its classification, which will then subject the bike to different, more strict laws.
For example, depending on the size of the motor and the amount of horsepower it creates, your bike may be classified as a moped or a motorcycle. It is imperative to understand the laws behind bicycle modification as California bicycle law requires you to have insurance if your vehicle is considered a motorcycle. but not for a regular bike with a small engine.
West Coast Trial Lawyers Is Here to Help
If you have sustained injuries as a result of a bicycle accident, you have the right to hold the guilty party responsible. A bicycle accident attorney at our firm can help you recover financial compensation for the losses you have suffered, including medical bills, property damage, lost wages, and pain and suffering from your injury.