Burn injuries can cause serious damage to the skin. The recovery process may vary depending on what degree of burn the victim sustained. Serious burns will require medical attention from a burn specialist. As medical expenses continue to stack up from having multiple doctor visits for treatment purposes, many victims may feel like they are falling into a financial burden. Fortunately, if your burn injury occurred due to the negligence of another party, you may be eligible to file a personal injury claim to acquire recoverable damages.
At West Coast Trial Lawyers, our qualified California burn injury attorneys are readily available to assist victims of personal injury. We will assess your case to determine what necessary courses of action should be taken in order to get you the compensation you deserve for your losses. With our track record of recovering more than $1 billion in settlements for our clients, we are confident that we will deliver a good outcome to your case.
To schedule a free consultation, please contact our 24/7 legal team by calling (213) 652-5649 or filling out our quick contact form.
According to 2019 data collected by the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS), 5.0 injuries and 1.7 deaths per 1,000 fires occurred in California. 17.6 injuries and 4.3 deaths per 1,000 fires took place in residential building structures. Based on the data collected, 51.2 percent of fire casualties occurred in residential and non-residential structures, 48 percent were in residential structures only, 44.6 percent were in vehicles, and 2.4 percent were outside. Lastly, in 2021, a total of 125 fire fatalities occurred in homes.
According to 2017 to 2019 data collected by the U.S. Fire Administration (USFA), an average of 34,200 heating fires took place in residential buildings in the United States. It is estimated that a total of 600 injuries and 165 deaths occurred from these fires. Cooking was the leading cause of residential fires, while heating was placed second. Most of these fires took place from 5pm to 9pm, with a high peak occurring from 6pm to 8pm.
If you sustained a burn injury at your workplace, you may be entitled to file a workers’ compensation claim to recover damages. You will not be required to show proof of the employer’s negligence. Typically, non-economic damages will not be available.
In order to be eligible to file a personal injury claim, the burn injury accident must have been:
If a company sells or produces a faulty product that causes a burn injury, they can be held liable for damages. According to California’s product liability law, those involved in the chain distribution, such as the product designers, manufactures, or sellers, may hold accountability for any injuries and/or damages caused by the defective product. Strict liability is enforced when a defect is found during the design or manufacturing process. These burns could also occur in restaurants. It may also become effective if there were no warnings or proper instructions given to the buyer about the product’s defect or usage.
In order to pursue a product liability lawsuit, you will need to show proof of:
Since a burn injury claim falls under personal injury, you will be given two years starting from the initial date of the incident to file a claim. If you exceed the deadline, you will no longer be qualified to pursue legal actions against the party at-fault for your burn injury. However, in California, there are a few exceptions that will grant you an extension. You must be a minor, out-of-state, incarcerated, legally insane, or incapacitated.
If you have sustained injuries as a result of someone’s negligence or deliberate acts of malice, you have the right to hold the guilty party responsible for your losses. Our California burn injury attorneys at West Coast Trial Lawyers can recover compensation for the losses you have suffered.
Contact us today by calling (213) 652-5649 or filling out our contact form to schedule a free consultation with our experienced, caring, and compassionate legal team..