Driving a car in California requires having car insurance. At the very least, California requires liability insurance of $15,000 against the injury/death of an individual, $30,000 against the injury/death of more than one individual, and $5,000 in property damage.
There are four primary types of coverage available to drivers: liability, collision/comprehensive, uninsured/underinsured motorist, medical payments/personal injury.
Liability coverage pays for medical and repair costs when you’re involved in an accident and are determined to be at fault. Your liability coverage ensures that the other driver will have his or her economic damages covered up to a certain point, after which it becomes your financial responsibility. Liability is considered the bare minimum available coverage and is required by law in most places.
Collision coverage protects your car from damage relating to other vehicles. Comprehensive coverage protects your car against damage caused by fire, storms, animal collisions, and other unpredictable events. Maintaining comprehensive and collision coverage ensures your vehicle is protected and helps protect you against hit and runs and other accidents in which no at fault driver is available.
Many drivers drive without insurance even though it is against the law in most states. Others have only limited liability policies that will not cover extreme damage or injury. With uninsured/underinsured coverage, the gaps between the other motorist’s coverage and your personal pocketbook. If you’re unable to get full damages from the other driver, this coverage could be what saves the day.
Medical Payments/Personal Injury
Medical payment coverage takes care of medical expenses incurred by you and your passengers during an accident. Personal injury insurance helps cover broader costs, such as lost wages caused by an auto accident injury. A Los Angeles car accident attorney such as the professionals at West Cost Trial Lawyers can help you determine what is and isn’t covered by your insurance and that of the other party and help obtain the relief you deserve. For more information or inquiries contact West Coast Trial Lawyers via www.westcoasttriallawyers.com or (888) 539-9582.